07/6/15

Book Review: Nearly Found

20522640Novel: Nearly Found (Nearly Gone, #2) by Elle Cosimano | Goodreads
Release Date: June 2nd, 2015
Publisher: Kathy Dawson Books
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher via TT4L

The sequel to the highly praised and intricately plotted Nearly Gone–a YA urban mystery that’s perfect for fans of Bones, Numbers, and The Body Finder

After Nearly Boswell starts working as an intern at a crime lab, a girl from her trailer park turns up dead. Then the corpse of a missing person is discovered, buried on a golf course, with a message for Nearly etched into the bones. When Nearly finds out the corpse is the father of Eric, a classmate of hers, she starts to worry that the body is connected to her father’s disappearance five years ago. Nearly, Reece, and Nearly’s classmates–Vince, Jeremy, and Eric–start a dangerous investigation into their fathers’ pasts that threatens Nearly’s fragile romance with Reece, and puts all them in the killer’s path.

 

If you haven’t read Nearly Gone and you love a good gritty mystery then you haven’t lived yet. Nearly Gone is one of my favorite books of all time – it’s incredibly well written and leaves your heart racing. Nearly Found doesn’t disappoint – it picks up a little while after its predecessor ends and is equally as intricately woven and addicting.

I fell in love with Nearly all over again. Her raw emotion, love, determination, and smarts made me want to be best friends with her. Her drive to achieve her dreams reminds me of myself, and her dedication to her schoolwork not only reminds me of myself but also countless other teenagers I know. In Nearly Found, Nearly has a new internship at a crime lab (!!!), an element I adored in this book. We get a new cast of characters with this new setting, which show another side to Nearly. However, we also have many of the same people involved – Jeremy, Reece, and Vince, for example. We see how alone Nearly is without the friendship of Jeremy and Anh, and quite honestly, I despised both of them throughout this book. They essentially dropped Nearly as a friend because they blame her for the events that occur in the first book, and although she was a player in them, she doesn’t deserve the way they treat her.

Then there’s Reece. Oh, Reece. You make the part of me that adores Pushing the Limits sing. I admit, in Nearly Found he seemed quite a bit… sketchier? His new assignment isn’t at Nearly’s school, and so their still new relationship is tested, requiring both of them to trust one another more. The secrets that Reece keeps from Nearly about his new assignment drove me insane – it was obvious that they still loved each other but just needed to be honest with each other. Their relationship would’ve been so much easier. Despite this, I still adored them together. They’re so different and yet so right for each other.

Nearly can’t seem to stay out of trouble, I swear. She’s always in the thick of things, ending up at the wrong place at the wrong time. The mystery in Nearly Found revolves around a serious of threats and acts that seem frighteningly close to Nearly and her father’s past. In Nearly Found, we learn more about Nearly’s father, as well as the night that ultimately sent him away from her. I loved the new elements of the mystery, as well as the action, the secrets, and the risk. Nearly Found is one heck of a sequel.

I can’t recommend this book enough. I absolutely ADORED it. I need more Nearly, please. Right now.

(But can we also talk about Elle’s next book, HOLDING SMOKE?! Like holy jesus I need it.)

Pitched as The Shawshank Redemption meets If I Stay, the story tells of a boy serving time for a murder he didn’t commit and who, after a near-death experience, finds himself able to separate his soul from his body and travel in a quest to find the real killer and clear his name.